By David Holland

December 8, 2016


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A Go-to Glossary for Rookie Internet Marketers

Welcome to the world of Internet marketing; where jargons are abundance, where marketers become Jack-and-Jane-of-all-trade and where the Internet holds an Almighty power. If you are a rookie Internet marketer, you are bound for an undying journey of challenges. Fret not, it’s a virtual world does not only offer opportunities but also growth for you.

First and foremost, it is very important to know the essential A-Z of Internet marketing. Here’s a glossary of jargons, slangs and words commonly use in the Internet marketing world. Keep them in mind. You’ll come across most of them in your day-to-day life.

A/B Testing

Also called split testing, A/B testing is a process of comparing two campaign materials — both which are the analyzed to be right fit for the campaign — to see which one works best. The one that brings better conversion wins and is use for future marketing campaign. A/B testing could also be in form of a simple part or chunk of a marketing material. For example, you can do A/B testing with email subject lines. So basically you are testing two different subject lines for the same e-mail content and see which subject line gets opened the most.

Analytics

Is the practice of analyzing, measuring and managing marketing performances. These figures show which aspects are weak links and which works best. Insights provided by analytics are helpful on sales, leads generation, trends and forecasting. Understanding how analytics work make you more efficient on your job and lessens unnecessary spending

Automation

Is a process of automating campaigns like emails, newsletters, PRs, among others. With automation, audience responses are recorded and you respond to them according to their behavior and journey along the process. For example, if a customer sign up for a coupon promo, after he successfully sign up, he will automatically receive a coupon. Automation can be done through a software like Infusionsoft.

B2B

Simply as Business to Business, B2B is marketing products or services to organizations and businesses. Put simply that your target market are businesses so technically you are selling products that suit for business needs. An example is Infusionsoft selling automation and CRM software to businesses. On the Internet, B2B is most commonly tagged as ebiz.

B2C

B2C is an acronym for Business to Consumer. A business is promoting products directly to consumers. Campaigns are made according to a consumer’s mindset. Examples are clothing companies selling directly to consumers or an e-commerce selling beverages to the local area.

Behavioral marketing

Is a strategy implemented to create marketing messages for particular audience matched to their past purchases, Web behavior or websites visited. An example of behavioral marketing is when a makeup ad appears on Facebook page after an Internet user searched on Google about makeups. Browsers have “cookies” that retained the user behaviour which are then used by other permitted channels or websites to integrate and correlate data to display relevant ads.

Blogging

Blogging is publishing materials – text, images, videos or all of them on the Internet. Compare to a website, a blog is updated more often for better engagement. There’s no pre-requisite to blogging. These days you can blog about anything. And because of blogging platforms like WordPress and Blogger is easy to manage, everyone, even those without a programming skill can set up a blog without the need of any special kind of technology.

Bounce Rate

Bounce rate is a percentage of visitors that move or bounce away from your website after visiting a certain page. Bounce rate is measured for better page optimization. For example, if an average amount of readers bounce from a certain page in as quick as five seconds, then that particular page could probably use some changes on its headlines or visuals to captivate the audience.

Buyer Persona

A buyer persona represents an ideal customer base on real time data and market researches. To create an ideal buyer persona, marketers do various researches from buyers’ behavioral patterns, demographics, motivations, goals and pains. Through this you get a picture of how they think, what their problems are and how you can address those problems with your product. Creating buyer persona is like profiling and creating dimensional profiles that help you understand more of your market.

Call-to-Action

Call to action could be an image, a line of text, or a button prompted to the person to do the action based on a given scenario. Examples of call-to-actions are those that you see in sign-up form buttons: sign-up now, grab your access, get your freebie, etc.

Churn Rate

Is the yearly percentage of customers that stop subscribing or how quickly customers leave. Essentially your growth rate must exceed your churn rate. Churn rate can be calculate based on non-renewal of contracts, closure of accounts, cancellation of subscription or shifting to another provider.

Click-through Rate

Most commonly abbreviated as CTR, click through rates are the average number that an ad receives. The average is calculated based on clicks and impressions. For example, if you have 5 clicks and a thousand impression, then the ctr would be .5%. High CTR means you are doing your job well and your marketing efforts are relevant to your end goal.

Content

In Internet marketing, a content could be a text, image, video or audio, a combination or all of them. So basically, a content could anything produced and published in the Web. Good content are basically original, well-crafted and dedicated to your targeted audience.

Content Management System

A Content Management System is a platform, software or a piece of technology use to manage contents in the Internet. With a CMS, you can publish, manage and curate your content. A CMS also have other features like traffic dashboard, organic search origin, media library, just to name a few.

Conversion Rate

Your conversion rate is the percentage of which a potential customer, a website visitor or a lead take an action. Example of this is the number of new leads acquired at a given time in your specific marketing campaign.

Cost Per Lead

Known to marketers as CPL, is a model use to track how much it cost to acquire a lead. For example, if you get 10 leads out of your $1000 expense, then the cost per lead is $100.

Customer Acquisition Cost

Commonly abbreviated as CAC, this is calculated by dividing cost on acquiring customers to the number of customers acquired in a certain time. For instance, if your company spent 200 on marketing annually and you acquired 200 customers, therefore, the CAC is $2

Customer Relationship Management

Customer Relationship Management is a software that can hold a database containing details of customers that the company can use for marketing, ads and sales. Infusionsoft is a CRM software use by many marketers for the past years.

Dynamic Content

A Dynamic Content is a part of a website, page, or email body that changes based on the interest of a viewer. User experience is personalized and more targeted. An example would be a  generic campaign page with dynamic content that can change based on a viewer or reader’s geolocation.

Keywords

Keywords are a group of words or phrases that a searcher entered when using a searching engine like Google. You use a keyword when you search something on the Internet. Keyword research, on the other hand, is about finding the right keyword profitable for your marketing campaigns.

Landing Page.

It is a specific web page where a user gets redirected when clicking a link. A landing page could be a simple website homepage, a social media page or a specific marketing page.

Lead

Is a person or information of a person collected for list building, acquisition or promotion. Lead nurturing,  is the process of building relationship with leads from the moment they sign up  until the buying process

Mobile Marketing

Is a specialized marketing technique dedicated to acquiring leads who are using their mobiles as a way to use the Internet. Basically, everything in your campaign from your market research up to executing the very campaign, all are optimized for mobile audiences.

Pay per Click

 

Pay per click is an Internet marketing model where the advertiser pay each time someone clicked their ad. The advertisement could be displayed on social media like Facebook, in search engine such as Google or in particular websites. The end goal is to get those who clicked to be redirected to the website where services or products are offered.

Qualified Leads

Qualified leads are basically prospects that already expressed interest on products. These are the kinds of prospects that you would like to give extra time to nurture. For better nurturing, segment qualified leads from your general list so you can create a more targeted campaign specifically for them.

Return on Investment.

Most popularly abbreviated as RoI, It’s basically the percentage of gain or loss from an investment. Marketers use RoI as an end-goal of measuring campaign outcomes progress and revenue.

Search Engine Optimization.

Is to optimize a single page, multiple pages or all website pages so they show first in search engine results. An optimized page that shows first in the search results gets more visitors which means more opportunity for it.

Social Proof

Is a psychological phenomenon use by marketers to portray or show proofs. For instance,  a software company could show that they have 2 millions users as a social proof or a natural slimming pill can show clinical studies related to the efficacy of the product. Showing social proof adds trust factor.

Viral Content.

A material that has become an online sensation all of a sudden. The easiest way to get viral on social media is to create meme that correlates to your industry. For a content to go viral, it has to arouse emotion whether negativity or positivity.

Word of Mouth

Word of mouth is a recommendation by a satisfied customer to a friend, colleague, family or other people for the good product or service. Just like traditional marketing, word of mouth plays a vital role in digital marketing when it comes to building better brand, gaining more customers and expanding RoI.

About the author

Nice bloke with practical ideas. Former Procter & Gamble, Kraft and IBM sales and marketing executive. Became a business owner 20 years ago. Started multiple businesses including EXELA which is the most successful Keap® & Infusionsoft™ reseller in the EMEA region.

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